By Maya Lester KC & Michael O’Kane

Sanctions Profile: Moldova

At a glance

EU sanctions on Moldova comprise travel bans on those involved in the campaign against Latin-script schools in the Transnistrian region of Moldova.

Subscribe for full access


US & EU sanctions regimes renewed, third countries align with EU sanctions & Kingpin Act designations

In recent weeks, multiple sanctions regimes have been renewed by the US and EU: The US renewed its regimes in respect of Columbia narcotics trafficking (Letter and Notice) and the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Letter and Notice) for 1 year, by continuing the relevant national emergencies. The EU adopted: Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/1800 which renewed its Nicaragua sanctions regime …

Democratic Republic of the CongoDemocratic Republic of the Congo NicaraguaNicaragua Chemical WeaponsChemical Weapons TerrorismTerrorism BurundiBurundi GuineaGuinea MoldovaMoldova

Third countries align with EU Belarus, Russia & Moldova sanctions

In October 2020, the EU Council adopted the following: Decision (CFSP) 2020/1388, which designated 40 Belarusian officials; Decision (CFSP) 2020/1368, which added 4 entities and 2 people to the EU’s Russia sanctions list for their involvement in the Kerch bridge construction; and Decision (CFSP) 2020/1586, which renewed existing sanctions in respect of Moldova for 1 year. The following countries have …

BelarusBelarus MoldovaMoldova RussiaRussia

EU renews Moldova and Burundi sanctions for 1 year

The EU has renewed for 1 year until 31 December 2021 its sanctions in respect of: Moldova – see Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1586; and Burundi – see Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/1578 and Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1585.

MoldovaMoldova BurundiBurundi

US travel ban on former Moldovan official for corruption

The US Department of State has imposed a travel ban on Vladimir Plahotniuc, described as a former official and oligarch, and his wife and child, on the basis of his involvement in “corrupt acts that undermined the rule of law and severely compromised the independence of democratic institutions in Moldova”. Press release here. Under section 7031(c) Department of State, Foreign …


Third countries align with 7 EU sanctions regimes

In October, the EU adopted: Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1663, which renewed sanctions against 3 Libyan nationals for 6 months; Council Decision CFSP 2019/1720, which established a new sanctions regime against Nicaragua in view of the recent human rights abuses in the region (see post); Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1721, and Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1722, which renewed for 1 year restrictive measures …

LibyaLibya NicaraguaNicaragua TerrorismTerrorism GuineaGuinea MoldovaMoldova BurundiBurundi

Current Sanctions



Council Decision 2010/573/CFSP

Parent Decision

Council Decision 2010/573/CFSP

Amended by:

Council Decision 2011/171/CFSP

Council Decision 2011/641/CFSP

Council Decision 2012/170/CFSP

Council Decision 2012/527/CFSP

Council Decision 2013/477/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/381/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/751/CFSP

Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1925

Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/1908

Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/1935

Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/1610

Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1789

Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1586

Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/1893

Share this page on: