By Maya Lester KC & Michael O’Kane

Sanctions Profile: Guinea-Bissau

At a glance

UN sanctions on Guinea-Bissau were first imposed in May 2012 by UN Security Council Resolution 2048, and imposed a travel ban on people seeking to prevent the restoration of constitutional order and undermine the country’s stability.

Subscribe for full access


EU de-lists 9 from Guinea-Bissau sanctions

The EU has removed 9 people from its Guinea-Bissau sanctions list: General Augusto Mário Có; General Saya Braia Na Nhapka; Colonel Tomás Djassi; Cranha Danfá; Colonel Celestino de Carvalho; Tcham Na Man (a.k.a. Namam); Major Samuel Fernandes; Commander (Navy) Agostinho Sousa Cordeiro; and Lieutenant Lassana Camará. It has also amended the title of Decision 2012/285/CFSP and Regulation (EU) No 377/2012 …


US & EU sanctions regimes renewed & third countries align with EU sanctions

In recent weeks, the following sanctions regimes have been renewed: The EU extended its Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) sanctions regime until 12 December 2022 Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/2181 (Press Release). The EU renewed its Russia sanctions regime for 6 months, until 31 July 2022 Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/52 (Press Release). The US renewed its regime in respect of …

Democratic Republic of the CongoDemocratic Republic of the Congo RussiaRussia Human RightsHuman Rights CorruptionCorruption BelarusBelarus SyriaSyria Guinea-BissauGuinea-Bissau MaliMali BurundiBurundi

EU & US renew sanctions regimes & third countries align with EU sanctions

In recent weeks, several sanctions regimes have been renewed around the world: The US renewed its regimes in respect of terrorism and foreign interference in US elections for 1 year; and The EU adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/1470, which renewed EU sanctions in respect of the territorial integrity of Ukraine until 15 March 2022 (Press Release). Additionally, third countries have …

TerrorismTerrorism RussiaRussia Guinea-BissauGuinea-Bissau

3 de-listed by Switzerland

Swiss sanctions against Sayed Shamsuddin Borborudi (Iran), Bion Na Tchongo (Guinea-Bissau) and Paulo Sunsai (Guinea-Bissau) have been removed in 2 separate actions in the past week. Press Release and Notice, Press Release and Notice. Mr Borborudi was de-listed by the EU in July 2021 (previous post), whilst Mr Na Tchongo and Mr Sunsai were de-listed by the EU on 6 …

Guinea-BissauGuinea-Bissau IranIran

EU de-lists 2 Guinea-Bissau military commanders

The EU has removed Navy Commander Bion Na Tchongo (Nan Tchongo) and Captain Paulo Sunsai from its Guinea-Bissau sanctions list. Both were originally listed in June 2012 for their membership of the ‘Military Command’ that assumed responsibility for the April 2012 Guinea-Bissau coup d’état. The legal act is: Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2021/1302


Current Sanctions



Council Regulation (EU) No 377/2012

Parent Regulation

Council Regulation (EU) No 377/2012

Amended by:

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 458/2012

Council Regulation (EU) No 517/2013

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 559/2013

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2017/403

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/31

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2021/1301

Council Regulation (EU) 2022/1329

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2022/1330


Council Decision 2012/285/CFSP

Parent Decision

Council Decision 2012/285/CFSP

Amended by:

Council Implementing Decision 2012/516/CFSP

Council Implementing Decision 2013/293/CFSP

Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2017/415

Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2018/36

Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2021/1306

Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/1335

The Republic of Guinea-Bissau (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (SI 2019/554)

Share this page on: