By Maya Lester KC & Michael O’Kane

Sanctions Profile: European Union


Iran imposes reciprocal sanctions on US, EU, UK & Canadian citizens & entities

In response to sanctions adopted by the US, EU, UK and Canada following the death of 22-year-old Mahsa Amini and violence against those protesting her death, as well as the provision of Iranian weapons to the Russian army, the Iranian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has announced its own reciprocal sanctions. See here for sanctions on US people and entities, here …

United StatesUnited States European UnionEuropean Union

EU launches WTO case against China over Lithuania trade restrictions

On Thursday (27 January 2022), the EU announced that it had launched a case against China at the World Trade Organisation (WTO) over China’s “discriminatory practices” against Lithuania. It is alleged that China has been blocking imports from and exports to Lithuania since December 2021 in response to the opening of a Taiwanese Representative Office in Vilnius. See previous post. …

European UnionEuropean Union

Russia imposes travel bans on EU representatives

The Russian Foreign Ministry has announced the imposition of travel bans on an unknown number of representatives of EU Member States and institutions in response to EU sanctions on Russia, pursuant to Federal Law of 15 August 1996 No. 114-FZ. The announcement does not specify the names of those listed but indicates that those affected include leaders of European private …

European UnionEuropean Union

Belarus announces sanctions countermeasures

Yesterday (6 December 2021), the Belarusian Foreign Ministry announced retaliatory measures in response to the recent UK, EU, US and Canada sanctions (see previous post). The measures will include a ban on the import of certain goods originating in the sanctioning states, restrictions on UK and EU air carriers, travel bans and other “non-public steps”.

United StatesUnited States United KingdomUnited Kingdom European UnionEuropean Union

Russia renews import ban

Russia has renewed until 31 December 2022 its import ban on agricultural products, raw materials and food, (including beef, pork, fruit, vegetables, fish and dairy products) from the US, EU, UK, Canada, Australia, Norway, Ukraine, Albania, Montenegro, Iceland and Lichtenstein, pursuant to Decree No. 534. The ban was initially imposed on 6 August 2014 in response to western sanctions on …

United StatesUnited States United KingdomUnited Kingdom European UnionEuropean Union MontenegroMontenegro UkraineUkraine

Current Sanctions

Share this page on: