Sanctions Profile: Burundi

At a glance

EU sanctions on Burundi were first imposed in October 2015, by Council Regulation (EU) 2015/1755 and Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763, following Pierre Nkurunziza’s disputed election to a third term as President, breaking a decade-old agreement on a two-term limit, and the violent crisis that followed.

The UK adopted The Burundi (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (SI 2019/1142) on 1 January 2021.

Subscribe for full access


Third countries align with Burundi sanctions

The EU has announced that 9 third countries have decided to align with the EU Council’s adoption of Decision (CFSP) 2020/1585, which renewed sanctions in respect of Burundi for 1 year. The third countries are: North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Ukraine and Moldova.


US renews non-proliferation, Iran & Burundi sanctions for 1 year

Non-proliferation sanctions  The US has extended the national emergency as declared in Executive Order 12938, as amended, to renew for 1 year sanctions which target the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction and the means of delivering them. Statement here.  Iran In 1979, by Executive Order 12170, the US declared a national emergency in respect of Iran, and imposed asset …

IranIran BurundiBurundi

EU renews Moldova and Burundi sanctions for 1 year

The EU has renewed for 1 year until 31 December 2021 its sanctions in respect of: Moldova – see Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1586; and Burundi – see Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/1578 and Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1585.

MoldovaMoldova BurundiBurundi

Third countries align with 7 EU sanctions regimes

In October, the EU adopted: Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1663, which renewed sanctions against 3 Libyan nationals for 6 months; Council Decision CFSP 2019/1720, which established a new sanctions regime against Nicaragua in view of the recent human rights abuses in the region (see post); Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1721, and Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1722, which renewed for 1 year restrictive measures …

LibyaLibya NicaraguaNicaragua TerrorismTerrorism GuineaGuinea MoldovaMoldova BurundiBurundi

US continues sanctions on Iran and Burundi for 1 year

Iran In 1979, the US declared a national emergency in respect of Iran, and imposed US-wide asset freezing measures on the Government of Iran and the Central Bank of Iran. The US has extended the national emergency as declared in Executive Order (E.O) 12170 to continue these sanctions for 1 year. White House Press Release. Burundi In November 2015, the …

IranIran BurundiBurundi

Current Sanctions



Council Regulation (EU) 2015/1755

Parent Regulation

Council Regulation (EU) 2015/1755

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/1605

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/1578


Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763

Parent Decision

Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1763

Amended by:

Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/1745

Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/1933

Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/1612

Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/1788

Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1585

The Burundi (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019 (SI 2019/1142)