By Maya Lester QC & Michael O’Kane

Sanctions Profile: Bosnia & Herzegovina

At a glance

EU sanctions on Bosnia were first imposed in 1997, by Common Position 97/193/CFSP, and consisted of a travel ban on three people said to have been involved in violent incidents that occurred in Mostar municipality on 10 February 1997. The three people are no longer subject to sanctions (measures were lifted on 20 March 2018 under Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/458).

The UK adopted The Bosnia and Herzegovina (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2020 in 1 January 2021.

Subscribe for full access


OFAC Balkans’ related designations

Today, OFAC updated its Balkans-related Designations. It added 7 individuals and one entity to OFAC’s SDN List as well as made several deletions. (Notice & Press release) The following individuals have been added: GRUEVSKI, Nikola; MAROVIC, Svetozar; MIJALKOV, Sasho; NDROQI, Ylli Bahri; RAKIPI, Aqif; SARAJLIC, Asim, TADIC, Gordana, The following entity has been added: I.C.I.C. KFT. (a.k.a. I.C.I.C. LTD.), Bocskai utca 9, …

Bosnia & HerzegovinaBosnia & Herzegovina MontenegroMontenegro North MacedoniaNorth Macedonia

UK amended 3 entries on Russia sanctions list & added new entries to Bosnia and Herzegovina sanctions list

On 11 April 2022 the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office updated the UK Sanctions List on GOV.UK Bosnia and Herzegovina 2 entries have been added to the Bosnia and Herzegovina financial sanctions regime and are now subject to an asset freeze: (Notice) Zeljka CVIJANOVIC (Group ID: 15081) Milorad DODIK (Group ID: 15082) Russia The UK has also amended the entries for 3 …

Bosnia & HerzegovinaBosnia & Herzegovina RussiaRussia

US designates Bosnia and Herzegovina officials over corruption

On 5 January 2022, the US Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) designated Milorad Dodik, member of the Presidency of Bosnia and Herzegovina (BiH), and a media outlet under his control, Alternativna Televizija d.o.o. Banja Luka (ATV), pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 14033. Mr Dodik is said to have engaged in corruption and activities that threaten the stability and …

Bosnia & HerzegovinaBosnia & Herzegovina CorruptionCorruption

EU renews Bosnia & Herzegovina sanctions & mandate of Operation Irini

On 29 March 2021, the EU adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/543, which renewed its sanctions measures concerning Bosnia and Herzegovina for 1 year until 31 March 2022. No-one is listed under this regime, but it allows the EU to impose targeted measures on those determined to be undermining the sovereignty in Bosnia and Herzegovina, seriously threatening the security situation there, …

Bosnia & HerzegovinaBosnia & Herzegovina LibyaLibya

UK issues guidance on 4 sanctions regimes

The UK government has published guidance relating to the following 4 sanctions regimes: The Cyber (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2020, Guidance; Bosnia and Herzegovina (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2020, Guidance; Lebanon (Sanctions) (Assassination of Rafiq Hariri and others) (EU Exit) Regulations 2020, Guidance; and Nicaragua (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2020, Guidance. The guidance covers best practice for compliance with prohibitions …

NicaraguaNicaragua LebanonLebanon Bosnia & HerzegovinaBosnia & Herzegovina Cyber-AttacksCyber-Attacks

Current Sanctions



Council Decision 2011/173/CFSP

Parent Decision

Council Decision 2011/173/CFSP

Amended by:

Council Decision 2012/158/CFSP

Council Decision 2013/134/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/157/CFSP

Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/487

Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/477

Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/607

Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/459

Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/467

Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/435

Council Decision (CFSP) 2021/543

Council Decision (CFSP) 2022/450

Share this page on: