Sanctions Profile: Belarus

At a glance

EU sanctions on Belarus were first imposed in 2004 by Common Position 2004/661/CFSP in response to the “continuing deterioration of democracy, the rule of law, and human rights in Belarus”, and comprised a travel ban on listed people.

Subscribe for full access


US renews Belarus sanctions for 1 year

In June 2006, the US adopted Executive Order 13405, which declared a national emergency in respect of Belarus. The E.O. imposed asset freezes on a number of individuals determined to have “undermined Belarus’ democratic processes or institutions” following the March 2006 elections. President Trump has extended those sanctions for 1 year by continuing the national emergency as declared. White House Notice.


Third countries align with EU Turkey & Belarus sanctions

Turkey On 27 February 2020, the EU Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/275, which imposed sanctions on 2 Turkish nationals on the basis of their involvement in unauthorised drilling activities in the Eastern Mediterranean Sea (see post). North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Iceland, and Armenia have aligned themselves with this decision. Press release here. Belarus On 17 February 2020, the Council adopted …

BelarusBelarus TurkeyTurkey

EU extends Belarus arms embargo & targeted sanctions for 1 year

The EU has extended its Belarus sanctions for 1 year until 28 February 2021. The measures comprise an arms embargo, and targeted asset freezes and travel bans against 4 people designated in connection with the unresolved disappearances of two opposition politicians, one businessman and one journalist in 1999 and 2000. See Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/214. EU Press Release.


UK publishes Belarus post-Brexit sanctions guidance

The UK has published guidance relating to the Republic of Belarus (Sanctions) (EU Exit) Regulations 2019. Like the other post Brexit guidance and regulations, these will apply at the end of the transitional period. See here for more guidance on UK sanctions regimes.


OFAC issues General Licence to continue sanctions relief for Belarusian entities

OFAC has issued Belarus-related General Licence 2G, which extends the expiry date of the licence until 26 April 2021, thereby continuing sanctions relief for 9 Belarusian entities. All transactions otherwise prohibited by Executive Order 13405 involving these entities, or any entities owned, directly or indirectly, 50% or more by one or more of the named entities, are now authorised. However, …


Current Sanctions



Council Regulation (EC) No 765/2006

Parent Regulation

Council Regulation (EC) No 765/2006

Amended by:

Commission Regulation (EC) No 1587/2006

Council Regulation (EC) No 1791/2006

Council Regulation (EC) No 646/2008

Council Regulation (EU) No 84/2011

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 271/2011

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 505/2011

Council Regulation (EU) No 588/2011

Council Regulation (EU) No 999/2011

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 1000/2011

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 1320/2011

Council Regulation (EU) No 114/2012

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 170/2012

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 265/2012

Council Regulation (EU) No 354/2012

Council Regulation (EU) No 1014/2012

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 1017/2012

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 494/2013

Council Regulation (EU) No 517/2013

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 1054/2013

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 46/2014

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 740/2014

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 1159/2014

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 2015/1133

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) No 2015/1326

Council Regulation (EU) 2015/1948

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2015/1949

Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2016/276

Council Regulation (EU) 2016/277

Council Regulation (EU) 2017/331

Council Regulation (EU) 2018/275


Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP


Council Decision 2012/642/CFSP

Amended by:

Council Implementing Decision 2013/248/CFSP

Council Decision 2013/308/CFSP

Council Decision 2013/534/CFSP

Council Implementing Decision 2014/24/CFSP

Council Implementing Decision 2014/439/CFSP

Council Decision 2014/750/CFSP

Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2015/1142

Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2015/1335

Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/1957

Council Decision (CFSP) 2016/280

Council Decision (CFSP) 2017/350

Council Decision (CFSP) 2018/280

Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/325

Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/214

The Belarus (Asset-Freezing) Regulations 2013 (SI 2013/164)

The Belarus (Asset-Freezing) (Amendment) Regulations (SI 2016/504)