Third countries align with EU’s global human rights sanctions regime

On 7 December 2020, the EU Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/1999 which established the new EU Global Human Rights sanctions regime (see post). The following third countries have aligned themselves with this decision: North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Norway, Ukraine, Armenia and Georgia. See press release.

Human RightsHuman Rights European UnionEuropean Union

About Michael O'Kane

Michael O'Kane

Michael was called to the Bar in 1992 and prior to joining Peters & Peters was a senior specialist prosecutor at the Crown Prosecution Service Headquarters (CPS). He was a key member of a small specialist unit responsible for the prosecution of serious and high-profile fraud, terrorist,...

See profile for Michael O'Kane >