EU updates terrorism sanctions list & designates French national

In December 2001, the EU adopted Council Common Position 2001/931/CFSP, which imposed asset freezing measures against a number of people, groups and entities determined to be “involved in terrorist acts”.

The EU has renewed that terrorist sanctions list, on which 14 people and 21 entities are currently listed, and removed Qasem Solemani (deceased) from the list. See Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/1128, Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1132, and Notice.

The EU has also added French national Bryan D’Ancona to the EU’s autonomous sanctions, which targets those determined to be associated with or providing support to Al-Qaida and ISIL/Da’esh. See Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2020/1124 and Council Decision (CFSP) 2020/1126. Press release here.

TerrorismTerrorism European UnionEuropean Union

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC is a senior barrister (Queen’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. The legal directories say she is the...

See profile for Maya Lester QC >