By Maya Lester KC & Michael O’Kane

Third countries align with new EU Nicaragua sanctions

In May 2020, the EU Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2020/607, which designated 6 Nicaraguan officials determined to be responsible for serious human rights violations, including the repression of political opponents and mistreatment of detainees (see post). North Macedonia, Montenegro, Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Ukraine, Moldova and Georgia have aligned themselves with this decision. Press release here.

NicaraguaNicaragua European UnionEuropean Union

About Maya Lester KC

For all site-related issues, including subscription and payment issues, please contact
Maya Lester KC is a senior barrister (King’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human...

See profile for Maya Lester KC >

Share this page on: