EU adds 7 ministers to Syria sanctions list

The EU has designated 7 Syrian government ministers following recent governmental changes in Syria. The sanctions, comprising a travel ban and asset freeze, are in response to “the violent repression against the civilian population in Syria, benefiting from or supporting the regime, and/or being associated with such persons”. In addition, 8 individuals had their entries amended. See Council Decision (CFSP) 2019/351, Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2019/350, Press Release and OFSI Notice.  All of the EU’s Syria sanctions measures are on the Syria profile on this site.

The newly added Ministers are: Major General Mohammad Khaled al-Rahmoun (Minister of Interior); Mohammad Rami Radwan Martini (Minister of Tourism); Imad Muwaffaq al-Azab (Minister of Education); Bassam Bashir Ibrahim (Minister of Higher Education); Suhail Mohammad Abdullatif (Minister of Public Works and Housing); Iyad Mohammad al-Khatib (Minister of Communications and Technology); and Mohammad Maen Zein-al-Abidin Jazba (Minister of Industry).

SyriaSyria European UnionEuropean Union

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC is a senior barrister (Queen’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. The legal directories say she is the...

See profile for Maya Lester QC >