EU sanctions 4 people linked to chemical weapons in Syria

The EU has added 4 people to its Syria sanctions list for “their role in the development and use of chemical weapons against the civilian population”.

The individuals include a high-ranking military official, Yusuf Ajeeb, and 3 scientists working at the Scientific Studies and Research Centre (SSRC), Maher Sulaiman, Salam Tohme and Zuhair Fadhlun. SSCR is the government entity responsible for “developing and producing non-conventional weapons, including chemical weapons, and the missiles to deliver them” (it has been subject to EU sanctions since 1 December 2011). See Council Implementing Decision (CFSP) 2018/421 and Council Implementing Regulation (EU) 2018/420. EU press release here, EU Notice here and UK OFSI Notice here.

SyriaSyria European UnionEuropean Union

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC is a senior barrister (Queen’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. The legal directories say she is the...

See profile for Maya Lester QC >