Gulf states continue same sanctions on Qatar

Last month, 4 Gulf states imposed a trade and diplomatic embargo on Qatar in response to what they said was Qatar’s support for the Muslim Brotherhood and terrorist organisations (see previous blog). Following a meeting yesterday, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Bahrain, and the UAE continued the sanctions because Qatar did not meet their 13 demands, including to end all funding of terrorist groups, severing diplomatic ties with Iran, and shutting down broadcaster al-Jazeera.

There was some expectation that sanctions might be expanded, for example through divestment from Qatar, withdrawal of deposits from Qatari banks, and a stricter air blockade, and the UAE’s foreign secretary Anwar Gargash has warned that Qatar faces “incremental measures” if it does not meet the demands.

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC is a senior barrister (Queen’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. The legal directories say she is the...

See profile for Maya Lester QC >