EU to sanction 3 leaders opposed to Libya’s unity government

The EU is to impose sanctions on 3 Libyan leaders who are opposing the Western-backed unity government in Libya. They are Nouri Abusahmain, president of Libya’s rival parliament the General National Congress in Tripoli, Khalifa al-Ghwell, prime minister of the government in Tripoli, and Aguila Saleh, president of the internationally recognised parliament in Tobruk. This follows a meeting of the...

This content is for subscribers only

To continue reading please login or subscribe.

LibyaLibya European UnionEuropean Union

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC is a senior barrister (Queen’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. The legal directories say she is the...

See profile for Maya Lester QC >