UK extends Sudanese and South Sudanese sanctions to overseas territories

On 15 October 2014, the United Kingdom created two new statutory instruments relating to Sudan and South Sudan. The first order, the Sudan (Sanctions) (Overseas Territories) Order 2014, gives effect in specified overseas territories to sanctions imposed on Sudan by various United Nations Security Council resolutions. The sanctions imposed include an arms embargo and asset freezes and travel bans against...

This content is for subscribers only

To continue reading please login or subscribe.

South SudanSouth Sudan SudanSudan United KingdomUnited Kingdom

About Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC

Maya Lester QC is a senior barrister (Queen’s Counsel) at Brick Court Chambers with a wide-ranging practice in public law, European law, competition law, international law, human rights & civil liberties. She has a particular expertise in sanctions. The legal directories say she is the...

See profile for Maya Lester QC >